My Weight Release Story

Weight Loss Before & AfterI kept putting this off. Tomorrow. Tomorrow. But what if tomorrow never comes? What if I fail to reach someone who can benefit from this and begin their journey into a healthier lifestyle? I kept waiting for the “perfect” time to create my blog. But if we continue to wait for the perfect time, then we will never get started. So, here I am ready after much procrastination and loved ones asking me “Okay, when are you starting your blog?” I am here to tell my story. I hope you will be encouraged by my journey and become a healthier and happier you.

“Are you pregnant?” Yep. Someone asked me that and my response was “No” because I wasn’t. I laughed it off at the time. But inside, it stung. Was I really that overweight that it could be confused with baby weight gain? I knew I needed to make a change. I actually knew that for some time, but kept putting it off (like I put off creating this blog). I am not sure where I thought the weight would go. As if it would disappear into some far away magical land never to return. But what was the magic spell I could use to make it go away? Then I snapped back into reality and realized, nothing will work unless you do! You know you’re tired of feeling sluggish, having acne breakouts, tight jeans, and your thighs rubbing together. And the pregnancy question? That was pretty much the nail in the coffin.

I decided I would no longer feel this way and I didn’t have to! I kept seeing the Weight Watchers commercials and half paying attention to them thinking, “Weight Watchers is for old women!” But still something drew me to it. The program had been around for a long time and so many people achieved success on the program, it must be good, right? I tried the low-carb (Atkins) diet. I lost some weight, but found it too restrictive. So I ended up gaining the weight back and then some. I tried “doing it on my own.” But I didn’t have a solid plan and really didn’t know what I was doing. So again, I lost some weight, but put it back on and then some.

So one day, I believe it was a Friday, back in 2008, I went to the Weight Watchers website and looked up the meeting closet to me. The most convenient day was Monday at 7PM. In 2 days, I can begin to change my life or continue being un-happy. So Monday after work, I went to my local meeting, signed up, and never looked back. I not am saying I was 100% gung-ho from the beginning. There was a small, nagging voice that said “What did you just do?” Was I really ready? Well, I had to be since I signed a contract. So after reading through the materials they provided, I started to feel better; like I had direction and accountability, which I previously lacked. Yes, there were some bumps along the way while I was learning the program and adapting to my new lifestyle. By the way, I don’t use the term “diet.” I prefer “lifestyle change.” I had to learn the basics: portion control, staying hydrated, incorporating exercise into my day, the difference between satisfied and stuffed, and how to make healthy choices during events and holidays. Once I began to make changes and see consistent results, I realized (as in all cases), my fear was misplaced. I had nothing to fear and everything to gain. I could do this!

In one year, I lost 50 pounds and I was so proud of myself. This showed me that I could set a goal and achieve it if I put my all into it. Losing weight was one of the hardest, yet rewarding things I have ever done. As far as accomplishments, I consider my weight loss journey almost as hard as earning my bachelor’s degree! Yes, that hard, because I needed to change habits that I developed over my lifetime and then develop sustainable habits that would help me keep the weight off.

I have managed to keep the weight off since 2009 and people still ask me why I still work out and eat healthy (as if, again, there is something magical that will keep the pounds from coming back), I tell them this is a lifestyle. I want to be healthy for life! Not so I can be “summer time fine” or get in shape for an event. But because I want to live. For a long time. I want to be healthy and confident. Often our bodies are ready for change. It is our minds that need to catch up. So once I changed my mind, I changed my life!

Yours in health,

Sharae

Author: curlsndumbbells

Passionate about natural hair and fitness! I hope to inspire others from my own personal experiences and encourage people to live their best. Strive for progress; not perfection.

2 thoughts on “My Weight Release Story”

  1. Sister so very proud of you for starting your blog and sharing your journey. I look forward to reading and reliving your journey all the while getting tips on the best way to complete a twist out and what brush to use!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

