Twist Out Using Jane Carter Solution Wrap and Roll Foam

After doing braid outs the last few months, I decided to switch things up and try a twist out.  I like the wave-like definition of a braid out, but I also like how twist outs provide a curlier look. Twist outs are also quicker to install and take down.

I scored the wrap and roll foam from Target for only $4.48! This was my first time experimenting with a foam as a styler. I hadn’t tried a foam styler before based off the assumptions it would dry my hair out, it was best used for roller sets, and that it would be too light-weight to provide definition and hold for my lion’s mane. But for this price point, I was willing to test out the product to see if my assumptions were correct. To my surprise, my hair turned out better than I expected 🙂

I followed a similar product combination that I used for my braid outs. I first applied my leave-conditioner followed by oils to seal in the moisture and then I applied the foam styler. My hair was dry and I parted it in the direction I wanted it to fall. I ended up with about 17 twists in total. I made sure to twirl my hair at the ends for curl definition. I slept on a satin pillow case and allowed my hair to air-dry overnight. The following day, I gently removed each twist, separated and fluffed my hair. I finished the style off with a little edge control to make the final look more polished.

Ingredients

I like products that have good quality ingredients and ingredients that I never tried before. Here are the ingredients for the foam

Deionized water, anthemis noblis flower (Camomile), symphytum officinal leaf (Comfrey), equisetum arvense (Horsetail), urtica dioica (Nettle), rosemarinus officinalis (Rosemary) leaf, humulus lupulus (Hops), lawsonia inermis (Henna),certified organic essential oils: lemon, grapefruit, coco-sultaine, glycerine, phenoxyethanol.

I didn’t list the benefits of all of the ingredients; just the first 5. The first 5 ingredients comprise about 90% of the product make-up.

Deionized Water – Deionized water is water that has been purified.  Water is the best moisturizer for your hair. Hair needs frequent moisture to maintain its health

Camomile – An herb that can be used to prevent or reduce hair loss

Comfrey – A root that contains essential vitamins, such as vitamin A and B-12. Comfrey also makes hair smoother, shinier, and aids in detangling

Horsetail – Improves the hair’s elasticity (the hair’s ability to stretch without breaking), promotes hair growth, and has antiseptic properties

Nettle – Used to prevent hair loss and promote hair growth

Pros

The product claims to smooth the hair, leave the hair soft, add shine, and manage frizz. My hair definitely experienced these results. My twists were nice and juicy after product application. My hair was very soft, shiny, and defined when I removed the twists.

The product doesn’t have a strong scent. So if you’re sensitive to strong scents, you will appreciate that about this product.

I also didn’t need to apply a lot of the product for it to be effective. I am usually heavy-handed with product, but only used one pump of the foam on each twist.

Cons

 The only con I noticed was that my twists kept coming unraveled at the ends, which I don’t typically experience with heavier cream-based stylers. So next time I use this product, I will add some small yellow perm rods to the ends.

Final Verdict

I’m glad I experimented with this product. It contains quality ingredients and I achieved my desired results. Finding products on clearance is a good way to experiment with new products and brands. If the product doesn’t give you the results you want, then you’re not out of a lot of money since you didn’t pay full price. I also plan on trying foam stylers from other brands to compare the results.

Have you used a foam before for a twist or braid out? What were your results?

Results

Foam

Author: curlsndumbbells

Passionate about natural hair and fitness! I hope to inspire others from my own personal experiences and encourage people to live their best. Strive for progress; not perfection.

2 thoughts on “Twist Out Using Jane Carter Solution Wrap and Roll Foam”

Leave a Reply

