What is Your Why?

“Why are you trying to lose weight? You look fine.” This is the question I received on numerous occasions while trying to lose weight. I appreciated the sentiment behind it, but regardless of how I looked on the outside to others, I didn’t like the way I looked or how I felt on the inside. I didn’t like seeing a double chin or a large tummy. I didn’t like feeling sluggish and heavy. I wanted to have more confidence when I looked in the mirror and I wanted to feel better throughout the day. That was my why; my motivation for wanting to live a healthier lifestyle. I was embarking on this journey for me and no one else. Yes, it was nice to have support along the way, but even if I didn’t have that support, I already made up in my mind that I was going to do this and I was going to succeed!

 As I started to lose weight, I discovered more reasons why this was important and something I had to do. I would read startling health statistics about obesity and did not want to be a statistic. I had so much left to do in life and could not be slowed down by high blood pressure, diabetes, or any other disease that was a result of my poor health. I wanted to be around for my family; to take care of them and I had to be healthy to do this.

 Everyone’s why is different. There is no right or wrong reason as to why you want to be healthier. This journey is personal. Your reason may change along the way, but your end goal should remain the same.

I encourage you to write down your why. Many times visually seeing something reinforces it and further motivates us to reach that end goal. You may even choose to create a vision board with encouraging phrases. Some people like posting a picture of themselves on their refrigerator as motivation. I recall buying an expensive pair of jeans that I could not fit when I purchased them. But I told myself I wanted to one day fit into them comfortably. After remaining consistent and focusing on my why, they became too big and I had to donate them. Whatever it takes to help you visualize your success, I encourage you to do it. Consistency is key to achieving results.

Even after losing weight, I still have to have a why. Why do I continue to eat healthy and workout? Well, because I don’t want to return to the person I was. Knowing my why helps to keep me on track and maintain my weight loss. Why? Because I want to inspire others and share what I’ve learned along the way. What I experienced may encourage someone else who thinks this journey is not possible. Some people think it takes super-human strength to lose weight and it does not. Yes, losing weight will be one of the most challenging things you will ever do; but it will also be one of the most rewarding endeavors you will take if you see it through! Anyone can be successful at weight loss. All it takes is a made-up mind, determination, and consistency!

 What is your why?

 

Author: curlsndumbbells

Passionate about natural hair and fitness! I hope to inspire others from my own personal experiences and encourage people to live their best. Strive for progress; not perfection.

Leave a Reply

