Why I decided to Embrace the Frizz!

When you ask many naturals what is one thing they wish they could change when it comes to their hair, the response is usually either shrinkage or frizz. Those are the two evils of the natural hair community that could put a damper in any style. You can leave the house one way and come back looking another way! The struggle is real! Or is it? Do we make caring for our natural hair harder than it needs to be by trying to correct something that is just part of how our hair is? Are we throwing money down the drain on products that promote frizz control? For me, the response to both of these questions is “yes!

When I felt like my frizzy hair was an issue, that is when I started relaxing my hair. Worse hair-related decision EVER. My hair was dry and weak! I eventually transitioned from relaxers. But that frizz “demon” resurfaced and of course I considered going back to the creamy crack, until I snapped back into reality. I remembered the state of my hair when it was relaxed. So I went on the hunt to find products and techniques to help “reduce” or even “prevent” frizz. I watched YouTube video after video, read numerous articles, and tried an abundance of products. My efforts either produced results that looked like I didn’t even try or only provided temporary results. I began to get frustrated, until I realized that perhaps I was trying to force my hair to do something it wasn’t capable of doing. Maybe I just needed to let my hair do what it wanted and not try to control the un-controllable.

I decided to no longer research methods or try products, but just allow my hair to do as it pleases! Ah freedom! Freedom from feeling like my hair was a disaster if my curls didn’t “pop” just right or if my hair decided to expand with the humidity. There are many factors that cause frizz and trying to control all of them was too overwhelming for me. So now, when I style my hair, I don’t worry about the outcome. Depending on how my hair turns out, and how I’m feeling that day, I may pull it back into a pony tail, pin some of it away, or just let it be big! I usually go with the last option 🙂

Instead I try to focus on making sure my hair is clean and moisturized. Oh and how I can achieve tailbone length by the end of 2016!

Have you embraced frizz? Or are you willing to go through trial and error until you find something that works for you?

Here is a side-by-side comparison of my hair when it was frizzy (left) versus when it was more defined (right).

frizzy-hair-blog-pic

Author: curlsndumbbells

Passionate about natural hair and fitness! I hope to inspire others from my own personal experiences and encourage people to live their best. Strive for progress; not perfection.

Leave a Reply

