Low Manipulation Styling – When Less is More

Have you ever stumbled upon a good thing by accident?! That’s what happened to me one morning after I washed my hair. After my hair is washed and conditioned, I moisturize it and put it in two-strand twists. The number of twists depends on how damp my hair is and how lazy I’m feeling 🙂 So one evening, after stalling on washing my hair, my hair was super damp when it was time to twist it and go to bed. So I moisturized it and put in about 18 twists to help it dry faster. I would normally put in about 6-8 chunky twists. But the larger the twists, the longer it takes for my hair to dry. I know I could have blow-dried my hair, but I try to use heat as little as possible.

The next morning I happened to flip some of my twists over to one side of my head and thought “hmmm… this actually looks kind of cute!” So I put in some bobby pins to secure the twists, laid my edges down, and went to work! Yeah for styling my hair in less than 5 minutes! I figured by the end of the day, my twists would look frizzy, but to my surprise, they still looked good. So instead of re-twisting my hair at night, like I normally do, I put on my satin scarf and went to sleep. I figured my twists wouldn’t survive my morning run. But I was pleasantly surprised they lasted and I wore the twists again. I managed to get about a solid 3 days out of these twists!! I also noticed how my hair stayed moisturized longer than normal. Moisture is KEY to length retention!

I decided to make this my new routine when I wash or re-moisturize my hair. Low manipulation styles, such as twists, aid in length retention, because it reduces mechanical damage. Mechanical damage is hair breakage due to using conventional styling tools such as combs or brushes. So since I am not untwisting my hair in the morning and brushing it, I am loosing less hair. So, I’m reducing the amount of all those little hairs we get around our bathroom sinks or on the floor! Other great low manipulation styles include braids, buns, and roll tuck n’ pin styles. The point of low manipulation styles is to keep your hand out of your hair for as long as possible. So, not “hand in hair” syndrome no matter how soft your hair is.

And as an added bonus can I just say that leaving in twists for 3 days will give you the ultimate twist out definition?! Don’t we all love getting more for less?!

So, even though putting in more twists takes more time initially, it saves me time in the days ahead, helps me retain length, and gives me the best twist outs! I wonder what I still stumble upon next?! 🙂

 

 

 

Author: curlsndumbbells

Passionate about natural hair and fitness! I hope to inspire others from my own personal experiences and encourage people to live their best. Strive for progress; not perfection.

3 thoughts on “Low Manipulation Styling – When Less is More”

Leave a Reply

