Moisture Love Hydration Collection Product Review

I am such a creature of habit, so once I find products my hair loves, I tend to stick with those. But lately I’ve been challenging myself to step out of the box and try new products from different brands. I know that keeping up with all the different natural hair brands can be overwhelming. I feel like there’s a new company emerging every day! To help me determine which brands to try, I look for companies that are black-owned and if they are owned by a black woman, then even better! I also look at the quality of the ingredients. I try to use products that don’t contain silicones, sulphates, mineral oil, parabens, or a laundry list of ingredients I can’t pronounce. So I was excited to learn that Moisture Love was a product line that fit those criteria! They have a signature collection that is devoted to maximum hydration. We curly girls definitely need all the moisture we can get to keep our curls healthy, defined and selfie worthy! J

So, if you want to follow along with me on wash day and see my results, then just keep reading!

 

Before washing
Pre-Wash Hair

 

Product: Gentle Embrace Hydration Shampoo

Key ingredients: Distilled water, soy protein, and sugar extract

The shampoo had a very thin watery consistency, but actually lathered up very well. It was gentle, yet effective at cleansing the product build up from my curls since I may or may not have needed to wash my hair the week prior. I see you judging me! This shampoo also had some slip to it which was nice since most shampoos don’t offer much assistance with detangling. Even though the shampoo contains protein, I didn’t notice that it made my hair stiff at all. The only con I have with the shampoo is the packaging. Due to its consistency, it would have been easier to apply the product to my scalp if it had an applicator tip.

Product: Deep Indulgence Replenishing Conditioner

Key ingredients: Purified water and tons of extracts, oils, and butter! Some of which include horsetail, nettle, lavender, rosemary, sage, chamomile, avocado oil, castor oil, argan oil, and cocoa butter

I only highlighted some of the ingredients. But this rinse out conditioner is jam packed with goodness! It was a great complement to the shampoo. It made my hair soft and also helped me detangle. I normally deep condition my hair instead of using a rinse out conditioner. But this product performed like a deep conditioner in that my hair felt the same way it typically feels after using a deep conditioner. So it was still very moisturizing and left my hair soft.

Product: Kindred Spirits Moisture & Style Cream

Key ingredients: Aloe vera juice, shea butter, cocoa butter, jojoba oil, and coconut oil

My hair LOVES aloe and coconut oil, so I knew I was in for a treat! Before I applied this product, I used some of the replenishing conditioner as a leave in conditioner. This styler was thick and creamy like a custard. I look for thick creams since I have thick hair and need a product that will keep my hair moisturized for several days. When a styler is thick, I notice that it aids in both moisture retention and curl definition.

Product: Seal with a Kiss Finishing Oil

Key ingredients: Marshmallow and horsetail with their proprietary blend of oils: avocado, argan, macadamia, castor, and rice bran

I used the finishing oil last to seal in the moisture and add shine after my hair was twisted. I applied it to my scalp as well. Adding this finishing touch left my twists all plump and juicy looking!

 

Finishing oil
All done!

 

 

After twisting my hair, I slept on my satin pillow case. If you don’t have a satin pillow case, you really need one in your life! Sleeping on a satin pillow case allows my hair time to dry overnight, reduces frizz and prevents dryness.

In the morning, I carefully removed my twists to prevent frizz. Then I separated and fluffed my hair to my liking. My wash and style experience was great! My hair was clean, shiny, moisturized, defined, and my curls were buttery soft! I think one of the reasons why my hair turned out so well was because I used the entire product line from start to finish. Companies create products that are meant to complement one another when used together. And did I mention all of the products smelled like butterscotch?! I’m a sucker for sweet smelling products.

If you would love to pamper your tresses with this collection, then click the link below! Trust me, your curls will be happy!

And a HUGE “Thank You!” to Moisture Love for the opportunity to review their collection and share my results with all of you!

https://www.moisturelove.com/

@moisturelove on Instagram & Facebook

Style

 

 

 

Author: curlsndumbbells

Passionate about natural hair and fitness! I hope to inspire others from my own personal experiences and encourage people to live their best. Strive for progress; not perfection.

Leave a Reply

